Things to do After Moving to Austin
Register Your Car In Texas
First, think about your car. By state law, you must get a Texas driver’s license within 30 days of moving to Texas. But there are a few things you will need to do first.
The first step is to get your in for a state inspection. Learn more about Texas vehicle inspections and inspection locations. After your car passes the state inspection, you will be given a verification form.
OK, now what? You will need to take your inspection verification form, your proof of liability insurance and your proof of ownership to your county’s tax assessor’s office. These are needed so that you can get your registered and get those great Texas license plates.
Once you have your car registered, you can apply for a Texas driver’s license. For this you will need to have an ID, proof of Social Security number, proof of Texas vehicle registration and proof of liability insurance. When applying for a Texas driver’s license, expect to surrender your existing state driver’s license and also to provide your thumbprint. Search for a Texas driver’s license office in your county. While you are at the driver’s license office, you can also register to vote.
Another thing regarding your car that you need to understand is Texas’ requirement for you to carry liability insurance. Called 20/40/15, Texas law requires minimum coverage of $20,000 per injured person, up to $40,000 for everyone who is injured in an accident and $15,000 for personal property damage. Is this enough? Before moving to Texas, it is a good idea to contact your insurance agent. If you need a referral to a good Austin area insurance agent, please give me a call. Learn more about Texas auto insurance requirements.
Voting In Texas
To vote in Texas, you must:
Be a United States citizen
Be at least 18 years old (you can register at 17 years and 10 months)
Not be a convicted felon (unless a person’s sentence is completed,including probation and parole)
Not have been declared mentally incapacitated by a court of law.
Find out where to register to vote in Texas. Get a Texas voter’s registration application.
The Texas Homestead Exemption
After moving to Texas, don’t forget to file for your homestead exemption. You can only file if the home is your primary residence and you own as a person, as opposed to a corporation or business. You can file between January 1 and April 30. The homestead exemption can lower the taxable value of your home, thus lowering your property tax bill. There are other exemptions available, such as over 65 and disabled. Learn more about property tax exemptions in Texas. Or visit my homestead exemption page to download homestead exemption applications for Travis, Williamson and Hays Counties.
Probably the best resource is for moving to Texas is www.TexasOnline.com. There is information on registering cars, pets, boats, hunting and fishing, professional and occupational licenses and much more.
If you are moving your family or business, email me or call me at 512-293-2422 and I will get you in touch with a great relocation that can help make your move less stressful.